Yarn Crawl 2014 (Part 2 of 3)

passportEight local yarn shops are holding an inaugural yarn crawl called Roving Indiana from February 21 – March 2.  I’m breaking this up into three blog posts. The first trip was about the trip, this post will be about the shops and the last post will be about my “haul.”

On Saturday we started with the shop just south of Indianapolis, looped around to three of the southern shops and then headed west to Bloomington and Martinsville.  On Sunday we went to downtown Indianapolis and our LYS in Plainfield (just west of Indianapolis).  I’m going to give a quick run-down of the shops (location and website) and the one thing I liked best about the shop. Granted, the winery wasn’t part of the yarn crawl but I’ve included it because it was awesome.

PicMonkey Collage

1. Starstruck Cat Design (Greendwood, Indiana) (http://www.starstruckcatdesign.com/)

This was my first visit to the shop although I’ve bought from them before at a local fiber festival.  I had two favorites here – lotion they sell that isn’t greasy and the other is some sheep yarn bowls.

2. Scotland Yarn (Shelbyville, Indiana) (317.398.YARN)

This shop is located on the circle in Shelbyville in an old area of town.  I liked the different selection of yarn lines they had at this shop.  I had never heard of Yarn Hollow before, which is the yarn I purchased.

3. Shabby Sheep & Ewe (Columbus, Indiana) (www.shabbysheepandewe.com)

One of the larger shops with wide open space.  A large selection of yarns including several luxury lines.  They also had the new issue of my favorite magazine – KnitScene.

4. The Clay Purl (Nashville, Indiana) (www.claypurl.com)

So apparently going to Nashville is a “thing” in Indiana – small, village like atmosphere with a lot of shops designed for tourists.  Clay Purl was right in the heart of this.  While a tiny shop the owner has made great use of the space available.  My favorite part though is all the local items in the shop. The owner dyes her own yarns, a local woman sews awesome project bags and there is locally made soaps and pottery.  This one might be the favorite of the new shops I visited.

5. In A Yarn Basket (Bloomington, Indiana) (www.inayarnbasket.com)

This shop is where I finally found yarn for the yarn crawl shawl.  They boast a wide selection of popular yarns in many colorways (including multiples of most colorways) and a very friendly staff.  There was also some *very* fluorescent yarn. Wow.

6. Sheep Street (Martinsville, Indiana) (www.sheepstreet.com)

I’ve been to Sheep Street (which is on an actual sheep farm) several times for fiber and spinning supplies.  In addition, I’ve taken a class from one of the owners at a fiber event. They are very knowledgeable about fiber prep, spinning and weaving. Large selection of spinning wheels to test out and lots of different fiber – this is the place for spinning and fiber prep.

7. Mass Ave (Indianapolis, Indiana) (www.massaveknitshoponline.com)

I’ve also been to Mass Ave several times since it is near my work.  Very large shop with a lot of different yarns.  My favorite thing is their large selection of Chiaogoo needles and tips.

8. Nomad Yarns (Plainfield, Indiana) (www.nomadyarnshop.com)

I’m a little biased on this one since its my LYS.  They have a lot of classes and a knowledgeable staff.  A lot of different lines of yarn as well as spinning supplies.  And now they carry all the Jacquard Dyes colors which has me very excited.

9. Cedar Creek Winery (Martinsville, Indiana)  (www.cedarcreekwinery.com)

We had planned on going to another winery but saw the sign for this one on our way to Sheep Street.  On the way back we decided to stop and give it a try.  Their wine list has the common wines but some different twists.  Like a Gewurtztraminer with a cinnamon-ish spiciness.

Next post: A summary of my haul!

1 Comment

Filed under Events, Knitting, Spinning

One response to “Yarn Crawl 2014 (Part 2 of 3)

  1. It almost makes me wish I still lived in Indiana! I can’t wait to see your haul.

Leave a Reply

