Yarn Crawl 2014 (Part 3 of 3)

passportEight local yarn shops are holding an inaugural yarn crawl called Roving Indiana from February 21 – March 2.  I’m breaking this up into three blog posts. The first post was about the trip, the second  about the shops and this last post will be about my “haul.”

I started my crawl with a shopping list of sorts – some Chiaogoo cords and tips, a Lantern Moon bunny tape measure and yarn for a couple projects.  Here are the accessories and notions I bought (and the bottle of wine).

accessories

While I have a set of the Chiaogoo Twist Interchangeables, I wanted some extra cords.  I also wanted to try out some of the Spin (wood) tips and related clear cords.  The bunny tape measure is to go with my kitty tape measure (since I have both a cat and bunny this seemed appropriate) and the purple kitty notion pouch is just for fun.

The lotion is great for knitting because it dries quickly on your hands and doesn’t transfer onto your knitting needles.  Lastly, the purple, magenta and green project bag is for larger projects.  Previously I only had one project bag capable of holding a sweater sized projects and two such sized projects on the needles. This one meets my project bag requirements perfectly (no velcro and no zippers but several pockets).

yarn only with notations

I bought a decent amount of yarn.  But I have plans for all of it and that’s a good thing.

1. The green in the upper left corner is Malabrigo Lace. Three skeins of super soft merino in the colorway Verde Adriana for an Aphrodite Shawl.  I will need to find beads for it.

2. The three skeins in the upper right are all Malabrigo Arroyo, which is 100% merino in a sport-weight.  I bought three colors (Regatta Blue, Lavanda and Fresco y Seco) for the yarn crawl shawl.  As I mentioned in my first yarn crawl post we got one-eighth of a shawl pattern at each shop.  Put together these form the Tayma shawl.

3. The red skein is Yarn Hollow Tor, a superwash merino in worsted.  The colorway is Chili Red and the skein is destined to be a pair of fingerless mitts.  I previously made a pair of the Vancouver Fog fingerless mitts for a good work colleague and loved the pattern.  So now I must knit me a pair.

4. The blue/silver skein at the bottom is Alpaca with a Twist Fino, a laceweight 70% alpaca, 30% silk blend.  I’m certain this will be a shawl and quite possibly beaded.  Possibly even a pattern from Boo Knits.

5. The gold and turquoise are both Dream in Color Smooshy with Cashmere (70% merino, 20% cashmere, 10% nylon).  The gold is Amber Glass and the turquoise is Blue Lagoon. I bought these specifically for the Firehawk Shawl I’ve had my eyes on.  Beautiful colorwork shawl.

And that’s a wrap on the yarn crawl! I had a great time and hope they do it again next year.

Leave a comment

Filed under Events, Knitting

Leave a Reply

