On the Needles – March 14, 2014

For one of my regular planned posts, lets take a quick run through of what’s on my needles right now.  You know, now that the sweater is DONE  🙂

20140314-203157.jpg

On the needles right now:

  • Firehawk Shawl – I started this on the plane ride out to Omaha.  This two color shawl has an interesting construction.  You knit the long lace border edge then pick up stitches along it to knit the body of the shawl.  I’m still working on border (see photo above) but love this shawl and the yarn. The pattern is Firehawk Shawl by Heather Zoppetti and the yarn is Dream in Color Smooshy with Cashmere in Amber Glass and Blue Lagoon.
  • Scarlet Capelet – I’ve been working on this poor thing for nearly a year.  I started it, put it aside, picked it up, put it down – you get the idea. This pattern appeared in the 2011 Jane Austen Knits and is a hooded cape.  I’m unfortunately not as excited about it now as I was but I do plan to continue working on it.  This pattern (Scarlet Capelet) is also by Heather Zoppetti.  The yarn is Miss Babs Northumbria Aran in Vlads.

008

  • Gregorio Hat – This thing is very nearly done – I mean really, really close! The pattern was written for aran weight yarn and I modified it for DK weight.  While the changes needed for the colorwork went fine I’m stuck on doing the decreases and keeping the pattern.  I need to take it up to my friend one afternoon but just haven’t gotten around to it quite yet.  The pattern is Gregorio by Grace Akhrem and the yarn is Alpaca with a Twist Baby Twist in orange and electric blue.

That’s a wrap!

Leave a comment

Filed under Knitting

Leave a Reply

