On the Wheel – March 22, 2014

As a compliment to my On The Needles post, I want to share what’s on my wheel.  Given I am such a slow spinner this won’t be a real regular post.  I typically only have one spinning project at a time.

The fiber I’m spinning is 4.2 ounces from wooliebullie and is a 50% merino, 50% mulberry silk blend.  The colorway is Beaujolais – a deep purple/magenta.  Buttery smooth top to the touch.  I’m aiming for a 2-ply lace or light fingering. My default 2-ply is a sport weight so the lace is a challenge for me.  It’s slow going – I’ve been pre-drafting a lot to keep it consistently thin.  I divided the top in half (one for each ply) and am still on the first half.

Untitled

I have a Kromski Sonata in Mahogany that I bought Fall 2011.

Untitled

I’m anxious to finish this and start a gradient!

4 Comments

Filed under Spinning

4 responses to “On the Wheel – March 22, 2014

  1. That is such a pretty colour! Can’t wait to see it all spun up.

  2. That fiber is gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

