The Fiber Event at Greencastle 2014

After two posts of providing suggestions on attending a fiber festival I’m ready to put them to work.  As I mentioned, I went to The Fiber Event in Greencastle, Indiana (at the Putnam County Fairgrounds) over the weekend.   Great shopping and awesome classes.  And a three day old Shetland lamb.

Shetland Lamb

I took two classes –  one Friday morning (with my friend Rachel) and another Saturday afternoon (with my friend Patty).  The Friday class was with Melissa of Hello Purl on fiber blending. We went through blending different fibers on a drum carder, blending board and a hackle and then spent the remainder of the time playing with the tools.  I learned a lot of tips for the drum carder and there were a lot of different fibers to play with (wool, angelina, faux cashmere, silk thrums, silk noil, bamboo and more).  The Saturday class was on color blending and we made a color wheel out of dyed fibers.  Then we identified the colors in the pictures we brought and discussed how to represent them in our fiber.  I had two photos and plan to create batts based on both. The following are my sample class batts.

001

My shopping list included black alpaca, merino or cormo fiber, undyed silk top, Fiber Optic *anything* and any soaps/lotions/jewelry.  I stayed within my budget and found most of what I was looking for.

018

So here’s what I got:

  • Three alpaca fleeces – a black one and two small ones (gray and fawn)
  • The remainder of a small Cormo/Border fleece.  Only a pound and a half – more for Patty and I to play with and figure out the best way to get clean.
  • Some Cormo roving for blending and 4oz of cormo/angora roving to go with 4oz I already have.
  • Natural alpaca roving, undyed merino, purple merino and black merino all from Ohio Valley Natural Fibers.
  • 4oz of anogra to practice blending with the alpaca.
  • Two bars of natural soap.
  • A Card It Up kit from Hello Purl.  Plenty of different fibers in coordinating colors.
  • Flickr brush for opening tips, especially on suri alpaca.
  • Small amounts of bamboo, angelina and silk for blending on the drum carder.
  • A Fiber Optic paintbox gradient and a skein of black for a Spectra shawl.
  • Three skeins of Fiber Optic Foot Notes for a Color Affection

Everything is entered in Ravelry, put away with the rest of the stash and ready to be used.  The fleeces are hanging out in the garage for a while until I can get them washed.  I had a great time both days and am glad I took both classes. Next fiber event (maybe) is Hoosier Hills in early June!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Events, Fiber Prep & Dyeing, Spinning

Leave a Reply

