On The Needles – May 20, 2014

What’s on my needles right now!

photo

More later about vacation and traveling with your knitting.  Or your spinning. Or your angora bunny.  Ok, not the bunny.  Back to my needles.  Here’s what is in progress.  I have one other scarf/shawl barely started but don’t even have a Ravelry page set up for it.  So I’ll catch it next time.  Obviously I need to catch finishitis sometime soon.

  • Firehawk Shawl – So this is still in process.  This two color shawl has an interesting construction.  You knit the long lace border edge then pick up stitches along it to knit the body of the shawl.  I’m still working on border (see photo above) but love this shawl and the yarn. The pattern is Firehawk Shawl by Heather Zoppetti and the yarn is Dream in Color Smooshy with Cashmere in Amber Glass and Blue Lagoon.
  • Scarlet Capelet – I’ve been working on this poor thing for over a year.  I started it, put it aside, picked it up, put it down – you get the idea. This pattern appeared in the 2011 Jane Austen Knits and is a hooded cape.  I’m unfortunately not as excited about it now as I was but I do plan to continue working on it.  This pattern (Scarlet Capelet) is also by Heather Zoppetti.  The yarn is Miss Babs Northumbria Aran in Vlads.
  • Alluvia Felted Tote – A felted bag/tote out of different colors.  It’s worked from the bottom um and I’m on the third color (just finished the second pleat).  The pattern (Alluvia) is from Allison Haas.  The yarn is Knit Picks Wool of the Andes Worsted in the colors listed on my Rav page.

010

  • Mysterious May KAL – My local yarn shop (Nomad Yarns) is doing a a knit-a-long with a mystery shawl.  All we know is it will be a semi-circle and it involves self-striping worsted weight yarn.  I got behind from being on vacation and then decided to re-start to clean up my starting edge.  So, long story short, I’m just now finishing clue 1 and clue 4 gets released Thursday.  So I need to seriously catch up!  The pattern is here and I’m using Ella Rae Classic Superwash as my solid and Knitting Fever Painted Sky as my stripe.  Rav page showing what colors are here.

001

Leave a comment

Filed under Knitting

Leave a Reply

