Finished Object – Alluvia Felted Tote

I finished! I finished!

standing

I finally finished this.  I started on it in March but got distracted by the KAL shawl and some spinning, then ran out of yarn.  The ten feet of i-cord was made bearable by a Clover Wonder Knitter.  I now love that little tool.

Moving on to the details.

Pattern – Alluvia Felted Tote (Ravelry pattern here) from Alaskan Purl. I’ve had this pattern for a while but hadn’t got around to working on it. The pleats and different colors make knitting interesting and felting it makes for a sturdy bag.  You could use any set of colors for a truly unique bag.  Make sure you have plenty of yarn for each color.  Pattern is $1.99 on Ravelry.

Yarn –  Knit Picks Wool of the Andes Worsted (WOTA).  WOTA is a blend of corriedale and merino wool. Personally, I don’t think it’s very soft and wouldn’t use it for next to the skin.  A 50 gram ball is 110 yards. I used the following colors, from the base of the bag up: Coal, Onyx Heather, Firecracker Heather, Claret Heather, Amethyst Heather, Lullaby and Lake Ice Heather.  NOTE: The pattern has been updated since it was originally published to add yarn because people were running out.  I had the amounts called for in the revised pattern and still ran out on one color.

Post felting and drying, I’m very happy with the bag and its size. Next time I would make the straps longer and possibly make the bag itself a bit bigger.

close up

2 Comments

Filed under I Finished!, Knitting

2 responses to “Finished Object – Alluvia Felted Tote

  1. That is gorgeous Courtney! I love the colors you picked. Sarah

  2. Such a cool knit! Love the colors you chose too.

Leave a Reply

