Historical Finished Object – Learning Curve

12158191335_109fecc058_k

I mentioned this shawl when I talked about the fair and said I would follow up with a full post about it.  This may be one of my favorite shawls I’ve ever knit.  I found the pattern and saw a sample at Stitches Midwest a couple years ago with a friend.  We both decided we wanted to knit it.  One of the draws was it used one ball of Juniper Moon Farm Findley, which our local yarn shop carries.  But, enough history. Moving on to the details.

Pattern -Learning Curve (Ravelry pattern here) from Adrienne Ku of Mushroom Knits.  This is a half circle shawl inspried by EZ’s Pi Shawl.  There are three separate lace sections and then a lace border is knit onto the live bottom edge stitches.  I will warn you, the bottom border is time consuming but totally worth it. The pattern is well written and the directions are clear (even those involving the moving stitch markers).  A lace or light fingering weight yarn in a solid or tonal color would work best. Pattern is $6.00 on Ravelry.

Yarn –  Juniper Moon Farm Findley.  Findley is a heavy laceweight blend of 50% merino and 50% silk. A 100 gram ball is 798 yards which is enough to do the shawl (my friend and I each had a small amount leftover). I used a teal colorway named Mermaid (number 18). PS – Juniper Moon has a really cool blog here.

Untitled
I blocked this puppy pretty aggressively, focusing on the points.  Very pleased with how it turned out!
IMG_1037

2 Comments

Filed under I Finished!, Knitting

2 responses to “Historical Finished Object – Learning Curve

  1. Pingback: Stitches Midwest 2015 Part 1 – Everything But the Goodies | FloofyMoose's Blog

Leave a Reply

