Finished Object – Firehawk Shawl

14996812787_48a5d1fb5a_k

I started this back in March on a plane ride to Omaha, Nebraska for work.  Then put it on the back-burner to work on the felted tote and do some spinning.  I felt like the border took forever and I think that slowed down my progress on it mentally.  Now that it is done I will say I really enjoyed knitting it, especially the two color section.  It was so much fun to watch the pattern.  Since I don’t wear much that goes with gold I don’t know how much I’ll actually wear it but I will try!

Moving on.  My Rav project page is here.

outside 2

Pattern – Firehawk Shawl (Ravelry pattern here) from Heather Zoppetti of Heather Zoppetti Designs and Stitch Sprouts.  This is a half circle shawl with a colorwork pattern made by slipping stitches.  You need the border back and forth (perpendicular to the direction you knit the body of the shawl), then pick up all the edge stitches to form the base of the body of the shawl.  The slipped stitch pattern starts almost immediately and you decrease as you knit, eventually reaching the center of the long edge.  In addition to the slipped stitches there is a small cable that goes up the body of the shawl.  I blocked, focusing on the points, but they don’t appear to be holding very well but that may be because of the nylon in the yarn. Fingering weight yarn in two solid colors that contrast would look best – you want the colors to pop against each other. Pattern is $6.00 on Ravelry.

whole shawl
Yarn –  Dream in Color Smooshy with Cashmere.  Smooshy with Cashmere is a fingering weight blend of 70% merino, 20% cashmere  and 10% nylon. A 113 gram ball is 400 yards.  I used 251 yards of the gold and 296 yards of the teal for the whole shawl.  The teal colorway is called Blue Lagoon (number 160) and the gold is Amber Glass (number 45).  PS – Their blog here has a number of giveaways.

lace border

lace tree

Leave a comment

Filed under I Finished!, Knitting

Leave a Reply

