Finished Handspun – Spinner’s Cottage

Handspun 2 of 3 for Spinzilla. A simply perfect merino from The Spinner’s Cottage. This is part review/part what I spun.
cottage Collage
Review of The Spinner’s Cottage Merino

I had never heard of this seller before but won a gift certificate on Ravelry to her shop. I wondered through her shop a bit, had some messages back and forth about what she might be adding. I finally settled on 4 ounces of merino in shades of blue and purple. It came in time for Spinzilla and I knew I wanted to spin it fine.
And wow was it amazing to spin. Just buttery soft and smooth. The finished yarn was much more lofty and squishy than I expected. I highly recommend this fiber and the shop was wonderful. It’s on Etsy here and is called The Spinner’s Cottage. She still has a few braids of the merino or merino and silk left and some beautiful Wensleydale and BFL braids.
d
Spinning Process

Rav page

Ounces: 3.8

Yards: 410

Weight: Fingering

I tore the top into strips for predrafting, mostly because I could predraft before Spinzilla started and knew that would save me some time. I spun the singles together as a two ply. After plying, I had 410 yards in 3.8 ounces and it was a fingering weight yarn.

I would love to make a shawl out of this handspun but the 410 isn’t quite enough for most patterns. Does anyone have suggestions on what colors might go well with it?

Leave a comment

Filed under I Finished!, Spinning

Leave a Reply

