Roving Indiana Yarn Crawl 2015

I finished the Roving Indiana Yarn Crawl for 2015 and went to all fifteen stores!

Untitled

For the uninitiated, I will briefly explain the basics of our local yarn crawl, now in its second year and including 15 local yarn stores (LYSs).  YouIMG_5209 buy a passport from one of the participating LYSs and go around to each LYS (by the way, this a fun day trip with friends) over the course of two and a half weeks.  At each LYS you get your passport stamped and maybe receive some free goodies (pins, tape measure, etc). If you make a purchase at the store, you get 10% off and an entry in that shop’s raffle drawing.  At the last shop they certify your passport and are entered into the large prize drawings. In addition, there is a yarn dyed specifically for the yarn crawl and a pattern you get with your passport.

Sidenote: Its fun to show off your handknits when visiting the yarn shops.

I went to nine of the fifteen stores the first Saturday with a group of friends.  It was a crazy day – we left at 8am and got back around 6pm.  I visited three more stores with a friend one evening after work and then hit the remainder on my own.  I turned in my passport at my local yarn store (Nomad Yarns) – whee!!! I won’t talk about everything I purchased in detail (at the risk of this post taking half an hour to read) but will highlight my top items.  There’s a list at the bottom of the yarns, colorways and where I bought them in case you’re interested.

041

  • 042 New to me fibers: 100% mink (the dark green in the mid/right near the bottom) and llama (denim blue in bottom right)
  • An old favorite: Mountain Colors Twist.  I have a cowl out of that yarn I wear several times a week
  • A lace alpaca/silk blend (the orange at the top) from The Black Sheep where they have a “room of Malabrigo.” Seriously – the whole room is Malabrigo.
  • My favorite purchase: the purple handmade mug with an angora bunny on the front
  • Ready to cast on now: Saw a shop sample at The Knitter’s Nook of a Brioche Cowl.  I bought two skeins (the aqua/teal and the gray next to it) to make the cowl.
  • Fun giveaways and non-yarn accessories: pins from yarn shops (I collect them), two project bags and a black cat tape measure.

The master list (roughly going clockwise):

  • (upper left) Black Baby Alpaca Lace by Plymouth Yarns from In a Yarn Basket in Bloomington.
  • An orange Mango Moon (giveaway) from Shabby Sheep and Ewe in Columbus
  • Handknit sock earrings from The Clay Purl in Nashville
  • Hand sewn project bag bought at Starstruck Cat Studio in Greenwood
  • Chiagoo Cables from Scotland Yarn in Shelbyville
  • Purple mug, lotion and another project bag from Starstruck Cat Studio in Greenwood
  • Black cat tape measure from Broad Ripple Knits in Broad Ripple
  • (top near-right) Orange (glazed carrot) silk alpaca lace by Malabrigo from The Black Sheep in Noblesville
  • Gray Fyberspates Scrumptious merino/silk from Broad Ripple Knits in Broad Ripple
  • (top right) Merino/Shetland rolags in purple green from Sheep Street Fibers in Martinsville
  • Denim blue Llama Lace by Queensland from Knitters Nook in Columbus.
  • Teal/aqua and gray Bloom Luxe Sport (merino/cashmere/silk) from Yarns Unlimited in Bloomington.
  • A purple/blue sock yarn in Picasso Blue (dyed by the owner) from The Clay Purl in Nashville
  • Dark green (pine) 100% mink laceweight by Lotus (Trendsetter) from Mass Ave Knit Shop in Indianapolis
  • (center) Ravelry Red Malabrigo Rios from Always in Stitches in Noblesville
  • (bottom) Madelintosh tosh vintage in a beautiful blue-tinged gray (Rainwater) from Village Yarn Shop in Zionsville.
  • Frog Tree Pediboo Worsted (80% merino, 20% bamboo) in an olive green from Willowe’s Basketry in Greenfield
  • Mountain Colors Twizzle in Harmony Iris from Shabby Sheep & Ewe in Columbus

117

1 Comment

Filed under Events, Knitting, Spinning

One response to “Roving Indiana Yarn Crawl 2015

  1. I absolutely love what you ended up with. You’re tempting me to get off my diet. I so many KP yarns, I can’t wait for the year to be over so I can try some new ones.

Leave a Reply

