Finished Object – Close Knit Waffle Hat

008

Soooo I lost a hand knit hat.  Back at the end of 2013 I knit a teal shawl and hat to go with my new winter coat.  A month ago I lost that hat.  I thought all hope was lost but with some fantastic luck I found another skein of the same yarn, same dyelot at my LYS.  Yes, a year and few months later they had one skein of the exact yarn.  Wow.

I chose a different pattern and purposefully knit it long so it would cover my ears fully.  Course, because I wasn’t paying close attention to the pattern and number of rows I made a little boo-boo on the number of rows between the purl ridges.  So I just carried that boo-boo through the rest of the hat.

Moving on.  My Rav project page is here.

005

Pattern – Close Knit Waffle Hat (Ravelry pattern here) from Leah Bandstra of Close Knit (website here).  This is a beanie style hat worked using knits and purls.   The pattern calls for bulky weight yarn and US size 10 needles.  I actually used US size 7 needles because I always have loose gauge and wanted a tightly knitted fabric. Pattern is free on Ravelry.

Yarn –  Misti Alpaca Tonos Chunky (Rav link)(Company website).  This yarn is a bulky weight blend of 50% merino and 50% alpaca.  A 100 gram skein is 109 yards and the two-ply yarn is loosely plied.  I used 97 yards so I could have made it a bit longer.  I would buy this yarn 100 times over – its durable and squishy soft.  As a note – the alpaca does shed a bit but not enough its a bother to me.

031

2 Comments

Filed under I Finished!, Knitting

2 responses to “Finished Object – Close Knit Waffle Hat

  1. nindesignsknitwear

    Great job! And pretty amazing the shop had another skein in the same colour.

Leave a Reply

