Review: Namaste’s Hermosa Bag

Easing into these review posts.  I thought I’d start with something I love – bags.  See, I have a weakness for bags.  More like an obsession. Even better when I can put small bags into one large bag.

038

The Hermosa is Namste’s largest handbag.  The exterior is a PVC faux leather and the interior is some type of plastic that is easy to wipe and clean.  Per Namaste’s website, the dimensions are 18 inches by 14 inches by 7 inches.  There are several interior and exterior pockets, including three zippered.  The suggested retail price is $97.50 USD

This is my bag to hold all my smaller project bags and it does so very well.  Even though I’ve owned it several years it is still my go-to and has held up well. Even as I write this my Hermosa (in eggplant) is holding my iPad, three drawstring bags, a notions pouch and lotion.  When I fly it fits under the seat in front of me.

039What Works: The size carries anything I need for a couple days of knitting away from home (or an afghan).  It has held up well being squished under airplane seats and has just enough interior pockets. It will also support a good deal of weight (i.e. my laptop) which makes it even more versatile.  One of my favorite features in any bag is when it stands up on its own

What Could Be Different: The straps are a bit short to carry the bag on the shoulder and the top close (magnetic metal disc) isn’t strong enough to securely close the bag.

Product Note: Some people have had issues with the Namaste bags wearing quickly, in particular the exterior finish.  Based on my readings of Ravelry posts this seems to involve the faux-leather peeling off and is most common to the newer bags. However, I have not seen or used any of the newer bags to confirm this. If I do have the chance to use one of the newer bags firsthand I will update this post.

Grade: If it weren’t for the quality control issues this would be an A.  However, for the price, the quality control issues are a big issue.  Therefore, in light of the possible quality control issues, I give this a B.

Review Disclaimer: This items was not provided to me for review – it is one I purchased independently. Although I accept free products for review, I do not guarantee a positive review and will share my honest opinions.  If you have a product you would like reviewed please contact me at floofymoose [at] gmail [dot] com.   

2 Comments

Filed under Knitting, Reviews

2 responses to “Review: Namaste’s Hermosa Bag

  1. Mary C. Groth

    I’m glad to know I’m not the only one who has experienced the deterioration of my Namaste Hermosa bag that was purchased in 2010 in Seattle. I did not abuse the bag or expose it to harsh chemicals; yet within five years, the vinyl leather has almost completely peeled off the handles and is also starting to peel from the bag itself. I would post pictures of the bag; however, there doesn’t appear to be a link to do so in this space. I spent most of the day looking for a website to complain to the company about the inferior quality of this expensive bag and to vent my disappointment but could not find any direct link to the company other than a Twitter feed. I have owned other leather and vinyl-type purses and bags for many years that never displayed this type of deterioration and would have expected more from this company’s products. If you can recommend any way to obtain restitution for this product’s failure to meet expected standards, I would be very appreciative.

Leave a Reply

