On the Wheel – July 2015

UntitledDeep Thoughts Single

Sadly, one of these is actually from an On the Wheel post from last year. I still haven’t gone back to spinning on my Sonata as regularly as I’ve been spinning on my eSpinner.  I’m hoping to finish up all three for Tour de Fleece but that is partly dependent on my back cooperating. I need to at least finish the singles for the two projects I started on my Sonata and then I can ply on the eSpinner.
IMG_0293I am spinning on the eSpinner this fiber from Fiber Fancy. It is 50% merino, 25% bamboo and 25% silk. The hand-dyed color is called Deep Thoughts and has navy, oranges, olive greens and golds. I have 4.1 ounces and intend to complete as a two-ply yarn. I’ve spun about 1.5 ounces.

UntitledThis is 4.2 ounces from wooliebullie and is a 50% merino, 50% mulberry silk blend. The colorway is Beaujolais – a deep purple/magenta. Buttery smooth top to the touch. I’m aiming for a 2-ply lace or light fingering. My default 2-ply is a sport weight so the lace is a challenge for me. It’s slow going – I’ve been pre-drafting a lot to keep it consistently thin. I divided the top in half (one for each ply) and am still on the first half.

UntitledThis is fiber from Tomorrow Farm for the Once Upon a Time Spin Along. I bought two different colorways from this spin along – Emma and Snow White. My Snow White (eight ounces) became this shawl. The Emma fiber is proving a bit more challenging (I’m blaming the tencel).  The fiber includes alpaca, tencel, merino and faux cashmere and is a pretty blend of blues, white and grays.

Leave a comment

Filed under Spinning

Leave a Reply

