Traveling with a Spinning Wheel

Do you travel with your spinning wheel? Afraid to try?

UntitledWheels on the Bus

I love spinning and its especially relaxing in gatherings as I (usually) don’t have to focus as much.  I have two “wheels”, a Kromski Sonata and a Hansen eSpinner.

014The Sonata is a castle style wheel that folds up.  I will admit I don’t bother folding it up when I travel.  I prefer to just seatbelt it into my SUV.  I have never had a problem keeping it secure and safe that way.I put the pillows behind the wheel to keep it from rocking back and forth.  PS – I don’t put the wheel in the front seat just in case the airbag were ever to deploy.
206I put the rest of my spinning supplies, including the arched lazy kate in this delightful bag.  It holds oil for the wheel, an extra drive band, the spinning cloth, a few spare bobbins and, of course, my fiber! The bag is a JanetBasket Eco Bag.

106

3 Comments

Filed under Spinning

3 responses to “Traveling with a Spinning Wheel

  1. My Fantasia travels the same way!

  2. I love the Fantasia! It’s short enough to fit in most cars, I believe. So easy to put in and GO = more time for spinning 🙂

  3. I don’t know if I’ll ever have to transfer my wheel by car but thanks for the tips.

    On another note, your wheel is really pretty.

Leave a Reply

