Stitches Midwest 2015 Part 1 – Everything But the Goodies

Entire Haul

I’m baaaaack.  Well, actually I was back last week but needed some time to catch up, take pictures of the pretties and so on.  We had an awesome time, met many new people and came home with loot.  In order to not have an epic long post I’ll post the yarn and other purchases next post(s).  But, if you follow me on Instagram/Twitter you’ll see them pop up a couple times a day.

096This is my shopping bag.  It has all the required items – buttons and stitch markers for the swap, my business cards and a swatch I was looking for yarn for.  I put my Rav button on my Stitches badge.  Inside the bag I had my purchases, my wallet, my phone and a shopping list.  I did have the opportunity to meet Danie of the Prairie Girls Knit and Spin Podcast (which I highly, highly recommend – it’s like sitting down with your knitting friends) and got some swag buttons to add to my bag.  099

I enjoyed learning new techniques for adding beads to knitting.  I’m not a huge pre-stringer of beads but the comparison of stringing onto the bar between stitches versus onto the stitch itself was interesting.  I also liked weaving the beads into the finished ribbing sample.  The cable with the beads was just cool.

UntitledMy friend Patty and I ran into Adrienne Ku of Mushroom Knits.  At Stitches three years ago Patty and I both bought the pattern for the Learning Curve shawl and then managed to separately buy the exact same colorway of yarn.  So we have twinsy shawls (here’s the post for mine).  Patty was wearing her’s when we met Adrienne, who is super nice (and funny!).  We (Patty, Heather and myself) also bought another of her shawl patterns, 20 Days, to knit together.  Just not out of identical yarns. Untitled

Last time best meal award went to Ram Brewery.  This time our experience wasn’t as nearly as fantastic (poor service).  But, we more than made up for it Saturday morning at Wildberry Cafe.  They had a great breakfast and I got some yummy crepes.  Pro tip: Get there early or you will be waiting for a loooong time.  Appears its pretty popular.

UntitledOne of my favorite aspects of a Stitches Events is seeing all the samples knit up.  I already mentioned the pattern we bought – the 20 Days Shawl but I’ll list it proper, along with my other favorites.

  • 20 Days Shawl from Mushroom Knits.  Half circle shawl using 900 yards of laceweight.
  • There be Dragonflies by Rosi Garmendia. Beaded shawl using 1260 yards of laceweight.
  • Through the Loops Mystery Shawl by Kristen Kapur.  Two color half-pi shawl in fingering weight.
  • Cypri by Amanda B Collins.  Two color crescent shawl in fingering weight.
  • Mansion House from the London Underground ebook. DK weight shawl that is kind of a boxy crescent.

And finally, thank you Signature Needles for the warning. I hadn’t really contemplated sticking my needles into my ear. Or nose. Untitled

1 Comment

Filed under Events, Knitting

One response to “Stitches Midwest 2015 Part 1 – Everything But the Goodies

Leave a Reply

