Finished Object – Big Chunky Comfy Hat

064

Sometimes you just need a quick knit to give you that feeling of accomplishment.  And I needed that.

I purposefully knit the hat long so it would cover my ears fully.  Ended up a little longer than I intended but oh-well. Moving on.  My Rav project page is here.

057

Pattern – Big Chunky Comfy Hat (Ravelry pattern here) from Erica Kempf-Broughton of Nomad Yarns (which is actually my local yarn shop).  This is a beanie style hat worked using reversed ribbing.   The pattern calls for super-bulky weight yarn and US size 11 needles.  I actually used US size 9 needles because I always have loose gauge and wanted a tightly knitted fabric. Pattern is free on Ravelry.

Yarn –  Malabrigo Rasta (Rav link).  This yarn is a super-bulky weight yarn of 100% merino.  A 150 gram skein is 90 yards and the two-ply yarn is loosely plied.  I used just shy of 90 yards.  I love how soft this yarn is but, as expected with a single ply, it is already fuzzing.  I’ve also learned that super-bulky yarn is a challenge to knit with because it is so bulky.  I’m more of a worsted weight gal.

Untitled

1 Comment

Filed under I Finished!, Knitting

One response to “Finished Object – Big Chunky Comfy Hat

  1. We’re going to be hat twins cause I’m absolutely making one. This F.O. sealed the deal … I love it!!!

Leave a Reply

