Finished Object – Gridelin Shawl

c

Gift knitting.  Of course, now I want one for me too.  I’ve actually had this done for about a week but wanted to wait until I gave it to the recipient to post (although I don’t think she reads my blog).  Her birthday was an extra special occasion this year for two reasons – one, it was a milestone birthday, two, I actually got to see her on her birthday!  She’s one of the most knit-worthy people I know which means I enjoy knitting for her.  I gave it to her last night and I think she liked it.  Enough about the backstory and onto the good details! I won’t be going into great detail about the pattern as I plan to write a review next week about the book the pattern was in.

b

My Rav project page is here.

e

Pattern – Gridelin (Ravelry pattern here) from the Curls book by Hunter Hammersen.  Curls are unusual shaped shawls that I can best describe as half a crescent shawl.  It’s an eight row repeat that uses increases more similar to a triangular shawl.  Like I mentioned, I’ll discuss the book and yarn usage next week in my review.

d

Yarn –  Dream in Color Smooshy with Cashmere.  Smooshy with Cashmere is a fingering weight blend of 70% merino, 20% cashmere  and 10% nylon. One skein is 4 ounces and 400 yards.  Super squishy  and soft but not very tightly plied.  The colorway for this is Amber Glass, a rich gold color.  I held the yarn double (so it was about DK weight)  and used 784 yards.  I’ve used this yarn before and would use it again just because it is so soft. I was worried that by holding the yarn double I would have issues with splitty-ness but it was fine.

a

4 Comments

Filed under I Finished!, Knitting

4 responses to “Finished Object – Gridelin Shawl

  1. Who wouldn’t love such a beautiful shawl? That’s gorgeous Courtney! I received Curls as a Christmas present but haven’t knit anything from it yet. I’m thinking that I will be soon now! Lovely work. Sarah

  2. Lovely. The goldenrod color is really cheery and warm, plus a beautiful stitch pattern.

Leave a Reply

