Book Review: Curls by Hunter Hammersen

Curl CoverPhoto Credit: Pantsville Press

I bought this book after seeing my friend’s at Stitches Midwest because I liked the stitch patterns.  So, I’ve had it for about three months but wanted to wait to review until I had knit something from the book.  I finished my first “curl” a few weeks ago as a gift and plan to knit another one for me.

c

The Facts:

Title: Curls

Author: Hunter Hammersen

Published by: Pantsville Press

Published in: 2014

Number of Patterns: Fourteen

Type: Shawls

US List Price: $21.95

curl2Photo Credit: Pantsville Press

The author bills Curls as being “versatile, wearable wraps to knit at any gauge.”  The best way I can explain their shape is one-half of a crescent shaped shawl.  Increases are worked along one side, leading to two straight edges (the side and the top) and a diagonal edge that is blocked into the curl shape.  Once you memorize the stitch pattern it’s an easy knit.

My biggest caveat to someone considering knitting a curl is to have extra yardage on hand.  Each curl provides the weight of yarn used, the stitch gauge, the yardage used and the resulting wingspan.   Before I started knitting my Gridelin I did some Ravelry research and saw multiple knitters had commented on the resulting size – primarily that the curls came out small.  For example, the Gridelin calls for 350 yards of DK weight yarn.  I reached out to the designer to learn her sample used 36 pattern repeats.  I used 392 yards of a DK equivalent (fingering weight held double) and did not have enough yarn to complete 36 pattern repeats.  The resulting size of mine was ok, but not optimal, which is consistent with what I’ve heard from other knitters.  When I do knit one for myself I certainly plan to have an extra skein on hand.
aPros:

Innovative shawl construction

Variety of textures and stitch patterns

Customizable size for different gauges

Easily memorizable stitch patterns

Cons:

See the discussion above about yardage.

All shawl photos are taken on a mannequin.  It would be helpful to see the shawls styled in different ways on live models.

My Grade: B

curl3Photo Credit: Pantsville Press

Review Disclaimer: This item was not provided to me for review – it is one I purchased independently. Although I accept free products for review, I do not guarantee a positive review and will share my honest opinions.  If you have a product you would like reviewed please contact me at floofymoose [at] gmail [dot] com.   

4 Comments

Filed under Knitting, Reviews

4 responses to “Book Review: Curls by Hunter Hammersen

  1. Rachel

    OOOooooh! I want the cover curl! 🙂 How do you wear yours?

    • It was a gift for someone. I showed her a couple ways. One is like a scarf with the tip of the curl tucked around the wide part. Second is more down on the shoulders like a shawl secured with a shawl pin.

  2. You chose my favourite pattern from the book! Are actually versatile and easy to wear?

    • I’ve seen two ways to wear it that work for me. I definitely suggest making it a big larger than the pattern calls for. The Gridelin I knit was a gift but I do plan to make another Curl for me, likely using worsted weight yarn.

Leave a Reply

