Review: Knitter’s Pride Knit Blockers

Let’s talk more about tools.  My local yarn shop got these in a while back and I wanted to give them a whirl.  I’ve used them a couple times so I’m ready to review!

005These blockers are an alternative (or addition to) using traditional blocking pins.  Each blocker (there are two lengths) has a plastic square (handle) with rust resistant stainless steel pins coming out.  They work best on straight edges although I’ve used the shorter blockers on mild curves.  Each blocker has little anchor holes that are for stringing across long sections.  I’ve never actually tried using the stringing method because the blocked edge wouldn’t be as even.  There are eight of the smaller blockers (which are just over an inch long) and twelve larger blockers (about two and a half inches long).  They come in a plastic case to keep the pins from puncturing anything they shouldn’t.

003If your local yarn shop carries Knitter’s Pride products, they may have these in stock (mine does – Nomad Yarns).  They’re also widely available online.  Price, in store and online, is $25 USD.

aPros:

Much faster to pin with this these than regular t-pins or even blocking wires.

Convenient case.

The plastic piece is sturdy and the pins are sharp.

Cons:

For long and/or multiple straight edges you will need more than one set.

Price – If one set was all you needed I think $25 would be very reasonable.  However, if you need multiple sets that would start to get pricey.

My Grade: B
Untitled
Review Disclaimer: This item was not provided to me for review – it is one I purchased independently. Although I accept free products for review, I do not guarantee a positive review and will share my honest opinions.  If you have a product you would like reviewed please contact me at floofymoose [at] gmail [dot] com.   

1 Comment

Filed under Knitting, Reviews

One response to “Review: Knitter’s Pride Knit Blockers

  1. MJ

    I love these! I like using them with blocking wires. Some of the wires are very thick and unwieldy so these work great in anchoring them. T-pins are a bit too weak for the job sometimes. But you’re right. If I was just using these to block a big project like a sweater, I’d definitely need more than one set. I wish they were a bit more affordable, but then, they are very sturdy and well made and I don’t want that to change..

Leave a Reply

