Finished Object – Milo Baby Vest

Milo Baby Vest in Christmas Red

More gift knitting.  A good friend of mine is expecting a baby in early January so of course I wanted to knit something.  I like knitting baby stuff because it goes to quick.  I finished this in less than a week although the Thanksgiving holiday weekend helped with getting some quality knitting time in.  Please pardon the indoor lighting on the pictures – Indiana didn’t get much in the way of sun in between when I finished and when I had to wrap the present.

Milo Baby Vest in Christmas Red

My Rav project page is here.

Pattern – Milo (Ravelry pattern here) by Georgie Hallam aka Tikki.  I like a lot her stuff because its clean and doesn’t try to be “cutesy.”  Several items I would knit for myself if they came in adult sizes.  Milo is a baby vest knit in the round top down with a super easy construction for the arm straps.  The body has a simple cable down the front and the pattern provides several different cable options.  I used the Horseshoe pattern since it was gender neutral and simple.  Pattern was clear and easy to understand. I knit the three month size (pattern contains newborn up to 6 years) to have some wiggle room.  Pattern is $6 on Ravelry.

Yarn –  Universal Deluxe DK Superwash.  As the name implies, this is a DK weight superwash merino yarn.   One ball (how it comes) is 3.53 ounces and 284 yards.  It’s very squishy but not very tightly plied.  I actually had a lot of problems with the yarn splitting, as well as finding uneven spots.  The colorway for this is Christmas Red, a bright red color.  The gender of the baby is not yet known so this was a good gender-neutral choice.  I used about 165 yards.  I might use this yarn again for baby stuff because it is superwash but probably not for adult items.
Untitled

1 Comment

Filed under I Finished!, Knitting

One response to “Finished Object – Milo Baby Vest

Leave a Reply

