2016 Goals

Fiber arts wise last year was interesting.  Things were different than I expect and new opportunities presented themselves.  I can only hope 2016 is just as exciting!

Yarn Crawl Shop - Sheep Street

Review of last year’s goals:

I won’t go through each 2015 goal but I do want to talk about what I learned from my goals.  I set a knitting goal to improve knitting efficiency but once I researched different techniques, I wasn’t as interested.  I might some day in the future, but not now.  Next, rather than stating a number of projects to knit, a better measure would be based on number of yards knit.  I set a goal to design and publish four patterns and fell short

Rather than review each 2015 goal individually I want to talk about what I learned from my goals.  For one, sometimes interests change, and one shouldn’t feel required to fulfill a goal just for the sake of meeting a goal. Second, sometimes a new opportunity presents itself and that might require the sacrifice of time that might otherwise be dedicated toward a specific goal.  And you know what? That’s ok.  Third, and last, don’t set too many goals! Focus on what’s most important to you.

About setting goals:

I posted last year about setting SMART goals, particularly as they rely to fiber artists.  That post is here.  SMART goals are specific, measurable, attainable, realistic and time relevant.

2016 goals:

FloofyMoose Fibers

  1. Organize fiber arts studio to allow for storage space
  2. Design & release six patterns
  3. Propose three articles
  4. Develop two new classes

Knitting

  1. Knit 5000 yards of yarn
  2. Complete one brioche project

Spinning & Fiber Prep

  1. Clean remaining fleeces (1 merino and 1 alpaca) by March 31, 2016.
  2. Process 144 ounces of raw fleece (including cleaning).
  3. Spin 48 ounces of fiber.
  4. Spin two ounces with beads

2014-02-14 022

2 Comments

Filed under Fiber Prep & Dyeing, Knitting, Knitwear Design, Spinning

2 responses to “2016 Goals

  1. I feel as if I wrote this post … I had so many plans and almost none came to fruition but I had an amazing crafting year that I would not trade for anything.

    Cheers to you and the SMART goals you set for 2016! I’m cheering you on!

  2. Awesome list of goals! I’m inspired and excited just reading through them. Hope you make great progress in fulfilling them this year. – Sarah

Leave a Reply

