On The Needles – January 2016

Untitled

What’s on my needles right now!

Back into the swing of my regular blog schedule!  It’s funny – when I travel I feel the need to take multiple projects (just in case something goes haywire) but I usually only work on one or two.  I seem to do that, focus on a singular project until I’m either done or bored.  Then I move on.  So on to my current projects.

  • Mansion House – My current shawl. At first I didn’t love it but its grown on me.  Pattern is Mansion House by Toby Roxane Designs, and is a DK weight shawl with twisted stitches.  I’m using Grinning Gargoyle Primo in Signature Red.

Untitled

  • Starry Whovian Socks – I am still loving knitting on this tiny circular needle. It’s become my current “brainless knitting” project that I can do anywhere, anytime.  These are plain socks with ribbing across the top, knit toe-up with an after-thought heel.  I’m using Quaere Fibre Sparkle Sock in the colorway Dr. Who Vincent and the Doctor.

Untitled

  • Caprica Socks – More socks.  This has gone into hibernation.  I might pull them out after my Whovian socks and keep knitting or I might rip them out.  Yarn is Knit Picks Felici, a super soft merino/nylon blend, in the colorway Caprica.

Untitled

  • Diadem– I’m hoping to return to focusing on this next.  Unfortunately, I need to knit it at home, in good light, with minimal distraction. Brief reminder – this is the shawl I’m knitting for my friend Patty in exchange for a pair of handknit socks.  And she’s making good progress on the socks so I better hurry this up! Yarn is from Zen Garden (I think Serenity Silk – the light fingering weight one) and the pattern is Diadem by Ruth Greenwald.

031

  • Crossroads Hat – I made a little progress on this but am still not sure on the sizing.  So, more tweaking might be yet to come.  I actually started this one time before too but didn’t like the gauge so frogged to restart with smaller needles.  Now I think its going to be small.  This yarn for this colorwork hat is alpaca so I want it at a tight gauge to prevent it from growing.

Untitled

  • Scarlet Capelet – This is hanging on the back burner, like way back there.  So far back I’m actually considering ripping it out.  Why? I’m not sure I like the hood because its a very big and wide hood.  This pattern (Scarlet Capelet) is also by Heather Zoppetti.  The yarn is Miss Babs Northumbria Aran in Vlads.

015

  • Starshower Cowl – I got a little ways into this and then frogged.  I need good light because the handspun is so dark.  I selected this to use my blue/purple handspun from Spinner’s Cottage.  The pattern is Starshower by Hilary Smith Callis.  It looks like it will be a cool knit – a cowl with a twist.  It is designed to be able to be worn around the shoulders.

023

  • Color Affection Shawl – Frogged but haven’t started over yet.  I still want to knit it (at a tighter gauge) but other things are more interesting right now.

022

Leave a comment

Filed under Knitting

Leave a Reply

