Finished Handspun – Fiber Fancy Deep Thoughts

Untitled

Bamboo blends.  I keep trying to love them – I really do – but they don’t love me back.  I stuck with it though and finished this braid.

IMG_0293

The Process (Ravelry page)

  • 50% merino wool, 25% bamboo, 25% silk combed commercial top
  • Combed top from Fiber Fancy (it appears her Etsy store has been closed)
  • 4.1 ounces unspun; 3.8 ounces spun
  • 494 yards / 2080 yards per pound
  • 19 wraps per inch (light fingering)
  • Spun on my Hansen miniSpinner on the lace flyer, plied on the Woolee Winder

I tore the top into strips for predrafting, mostly because I prefer predrafting and wanted to make sure the bamboo and silk were opened up.  Also, some of the bamboo and silk bits were short and didn’t draft out smoothly.  I spun the singles together as a two ply.

Untitled

What Will it Grow Up to Be

Hmm.  I liked the fall colors initially but did not expect so much orange.  I’d like to tone it down a bit but I’m not looking to overdye this one.  Instead, I think I’m going to knit this yarn in stripes or block with an olive green yarn.  I think that combination would make a nice fall shawl or cowl.

Untitled

 

4 Comments

Filed under I Finished!, Spinning

4 responses to “Finished Handspun – Fiber Fancy Deep Thoughts

  1. Beautiful! Love the colors – this will look great as a cowl. – Sarah

  2. Gorgeous! Spinning seems miraculous to me!

Leave a Reply

