Review: Happy Hands Lotion

Untitled

If you craft with your hands then caring for your hands is particularly important. However, if you craft with your hands you also know you don’t want greasy lotion transferring from your hands to your work.  The lotion from Happy Hands fits that bill perfectly.  On to the review!

Untitled

I first found this lotion at a local yarn shop and have now ordered a couple times from the online store.  The lotion is creamy but not greasy and, as promised, does not transfer to your handcraft.  That, and the fact there are no color additives, are the main reasons I have continued to return to this lotion.  The lotion is made with shea butter, sunflower oil, aloe vera, and natural essential oils or pure cosmetic-grade fragrance oils for scent.  Another plus, at least for me, is the lack of coconut oil, which I do not like the smell of.

Untitled

The maker has about 30 scents including ones inspired by bakery smells, coffee, tea, flowers, fruits, the holidays and some that are unscented or lightly scented.  My nose is very sensitive (yes, I’m talking to you dude in my office building that wears too much cologne) and I don’t like exceedingly strong or “fake” scents.  Of the scents of this lotion I’ve had a chance to “sniff” none were too overt.  My all-time favorite is Mandarin Clove (a unique blend that I find refreshing), followed by Sweet Dreams (jasmine and vanilla), which is perfect for bedtime.  I also really enjoy Clover, Sandia Sage and Lavender, and White Tea and Ginger.  I just received a small sample of Green Apple with a recent order and I look forward to trying several more in the future (namely, Bohemian, Citrus Cilantro, Cinnabun, Peaches and Mulled Cranberry).

How to Buy:

I’m not sure how many yarn shops carry the Happy Hands lotion.  If you’re local to the Indianapolis area, Starstruck Cat in Greenwood carries some of the scents (bonus point: Starstruck is on the Roving Indiana yarn crawl).  You can find the shop on Etsy under HappyHandsStore here.

Untitled
Pros:

  • Not greasy and doesn’t transfer from your hands to your work.
  • Wide selection of scents, as well as unscented, and sizes.
  • No added artificial colors.

Con:

  • Hard to sample fragrances unless a local store carries the line.  You can order small, single portion, samples (8 for $4) though.

Price:

The lotion is more expensive than what you buy at big box stores but is comparably priced to other handmade lotions, and the seller lists the ingredients out so you know what is in the lotion. Prices for a 2 ounce, 4 ounce and 8 ounce bottle are $5, $7 and $12, respectively.  She also has a smaller 1 ounce bottle for $3.

My Grade: A

Untitled

The one ounce “tottle” size.  I love these for my notion bags.

Review Disclaimer: These items were not provided to me for review – they are items I purchased independently. Although I accept free products for review, I do not guarantee a positive review and will share my honest opinions.  If you have a product you would like reviewed please contact me at floofymoose [at] gmail [dot] com.   

 

2 Comments

Filed under Knitting, Reviews

2 responses to “Review: Happy Hands Lotion

  1. Rachel

    I need another big bottle of mandarin clove. I’m down to my last 2oz. bottle. Horrors! 😉

Leave a Reply

