Roving Indiana Yarn Crawl 2016

I finished the Roving Indiana Yarn Crawl for 2016 and went to all fourteen stores!

Untitled

For the uninitiated, I will briefly explain the basics of our local yarn crawl, now in its third year and including 14 local yarn stores (LYSs).  You
buy a passport from one of the participating LYSs and go around to each LYS (by the way, this a fun day trip with friends) over the course of two and a half weeks.  At each LYS you get your passport stamped and get entered for a store drawing. If you make a purchase at the store, you get 10% off.  At the last shop they certify your passport and are entered into the large prize drawings. In addition, there is a yarn dyed specifically for the yarn crawl.

Untitled

Sidenote: Its fun to show off your handknits when visiting the yarn shops.

I went to eight of the fifteen stores the first Saturday with a group of friends.  It was a crazy day – we left at 9am and got back around 6pm.  I visited the store near my office one day over lunch and hit the remainder on my own.  I turned in my passport at my last stop, Knitter’s Nook in Columbus.  I won’t talk about everything I purchased in detail (at the risk of this post taking half an hour to read) but will highlight my top items.  There’s a list at the bottom of the yarns, colorways and where I bought them in case you’re interested.  Also, I’ll be tweeting/posting photos on Instagram of the specific purchases.

IMG_7611

  • New to me yarns: Araucania’s dk merino kettle dyed (the cream, blue and purple in upper right) and Twizzlefoot (third skein from left on top)
  • An old favorite: Dream in Color Smooshy with Cashmere (blue in center) and Malabrigo Silkpaca Lace (blue-green in middle right)
  • Some Anzula from a trunk show at The Black Sheep.  This is also where they have a “room of Malabrigo.” Seriously – the whole room is Malabrigo.
  • My favorite purchase: the red handmade mug with a quote on the front.  This is the same place I got the purple angora mug last year.
  • Ready to cast on now: A shawl using the solid red and the yarn designed for the yarn crawl (just right of top center).
  • Fun non-yarn accessories: pins from yarn shops (I collect them), the mug and two small notions bags.
  • Something to try: HiyaHiya Sharps needle tips and cord.  I’m interested to see how these compare to my Chiaogoos.

The master list:

  • (top row left to right) Denim luster (merino/silk) by Anzula from The Black Sheep in Noblesville
  • Summit multi-color Twizzlefoot by Mountain Colors Yarn from Broad Ripple Knits in Broad Ripple
  • Messenger Kit (teal and purple) in Mad Hatter from Wonderland Yarns (Frabjous Fibers) from The Clay Purl in Nashville
  • Colorway Global Mix in Smooshy with Cashmere by Dream in Color Yarns from Shabby Sheep and Ewe in Columbus
  • Bright red Cascade Yarns Heritage Sock and the crawl yarn by Knitted Wit from Always in Stitches in Noblesville
  • Three colors of Araucania Huasco DK from Knitters Nook in Columbus
  • (second row left to right) Deep aqua Fyberspates Vivacious from Mass Ave Knit Shop in Indianapolis
  • Angora Lace by Wisdom Yarns in colorway Back to Nature from In a Yarn Basket in Bloomington.
  • A few Madelinetosh Unicorn Tails in jewel tones from Village Yarn Shop in Zionsville.
  • Malabrigo yarn silkpaca lace in the Solis colorway from Yarn on the Square in Shelbyville
  • (bottom row left to right) Sewn notion bag from Willowe’s Basketry in Greenfield
  • Red mug, lotion and HiyaHiya interchangeable tips and cord from Starstruck Cat Studio in Greenwood
  • Gray felted notion pouch from Frabjous Fibers bought at Yarns Unlimited in Bloomington.

 

3 Comments

Filed under Events, Knitting, Spinning

3 responses to “Roving Indiana Yarn Crawl 2016

  1. Wow, what a fabulous haul! The Black Sheep in Noblesville is my LYS (well, it’s 25 minutes away from me, but it’s the closest one!). I loooove their room of Malabrigo! Sad I missed the yarn crawl this year—I’ll have to try to be more on the ball for next year!

  2. katietbd

    I wish I had the time (cough, cough money) to do something like that! Looks like you had fun 😀

Leave a Reply

