Book Review: Knitting Ephemera by Carol Sulcoski

Photo Credit: Sixth&Spring Press

I bought this book online shortly after it was released and started reading it the night it arrived in the mail.  The book bills itself as “a compendium of articles, useful and otherwise, for the edification and amusement of the handknitter.”  And that’s exactly what it is – little fun facts, folklore and bits of history about knitting, crochet and related fiber arts.  For example, did you know that knitting burns 102 calories per hour?

The Facts:

Title: Knitting Ephemera

Author: Carol J. Sulcoski

Published by: Sixth&SpringBooks

Published in: 2016

Type: Nonfiction

US List Price: $14.95

This little hardcover book has an attached red ribbon as a bookmark.  At 129 pages I easily could have finished it in a weekend but tried to space out my enjoyment.

As a fun note, and one reason I wanted to read this book, the first hat I ever knit was the Ribby Toque by Carol Sulcoski, the author of this book. She has about 152 designs on Ravelry.

Pros:

A wide variety of topics

Truly fun facts that for the most part I’d never seen before

Cons:

Given the size of the (height and width) the print seems small

No digital version

My Grade: A

Review Disclaimer: This item was not provided to me for review – it is one I purchased independently. Although I accept free products for review, I do not guarantee a positive review and will share my honest opinions.  If you have a product you would like reviewed please contact me at floofymoose [at] gmail [dot] com.   

1 Comment

Filed under Knitting, Reviews

One response to “Book Review: Knitting Ephemera by Carol Sulcoski

  1. I’ll try to get this at the library. 🙂

Leave a Reply

