On The Needles – August 2016

Untitled

What’s on my needles right now!

A lot of my recent knitting time I’ve been spending on new designs for the fall.  I’ll talk briefly about those, and the other knitting projects I hope to get back to.

  • Lansford Canal Cowl – This is a new design I just finished the sample for.  It has cables, lace and beads and is knit out of One Twisted Tree Prime in the Miss Fisher’s Pearl Handled Pistol colorway (FYI – One Twisted Tree yarns are dyed by Danie of the Prairie Girls Knit and Spin podcast – which I highly recommend).  The pattern is with test knitters and the tech editor right now and I’m hoping to release around August 23 or so.

Untitled

  • A yet un-named shawl for fall – This is a new design I’m just starting.  It has two cable panels, a lace panel and mesh on the outside edges.  It is knit out of Zen Yarn Garden’s Serenity, which feels heavenly to touch.  Like I could just sit and pet it.

Untitled

  • On the Road – I’m just starting this one and it will function as my Stitches Midwest knitting when I need something easy to work on.  Yarn is superwash merino from A Good Yarn, which is local dyer,  and the pattern is On the Road by Janina Kallio.

Untitled

  • Diadem– I’m hoping to return to focusing on this next.  Unfortunately, I need to knit it at home, in good light, with minimal distraction. Brief reminder – this is the shawl I’m knitting for my friend Patty in exchange for a pair of handknit socks.  And she’s making good progress on the socks so I better hurry this up! Yarn is from Zen Garden (I think Serenity Silk – the light fingering weight one) and the pattern is Diadem by Ruth Greenwald.

Untitled

  • Starry Whovian Socks – I am still loving knitting on this tiny circular needle.  I was actually farther along but really didn’t like where I’d started the ribbing I out ripped back a bit and started that ribbing earlier.  It’s become my current “brainless knitting” project that I can do anywhere, anytime.  These are plain socks with ribbing across the top, knit toe-up with an after-thought heel.  I’m using Quaere Fibre Sparkle Sock in the colorway Dr. Who Vincent and the Doctor.

Untitled

  • Radiance Shawl– This one is actually “off” the needles now because I ripped it out.  I was really struggling with the splitty-ness of the yarn and decided at this point in time I couldn’t do “frustrating knittng.”

Untitled

  • Caprica Socks – More socks.  This has gone into hibernation.  I might pull them out after my Whovian socks and keep knitting or I might rip them out.  Yarn is Knit Picks Felici, a super soft merino/nylon blend, in the colorway Caprica.

Untitled

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Knitting, Knitwear Design

One response to “On The Needles – August 2016

  1. LOL your comment re: frustrating knitting resonates with me!

Leave a Reply

