Lest You Think I Disappeared. . .

I fully realize I’ve been as quiet as a church mouse this month. It has been an absolutely crazy and insane month of weird happenings. So, I’m going to give you an update on the two big things and then some smaller updates on miscellaneous things. 


At the beginning of May my cat stopped eating (which was very scary for my food motivated cat). Initial diagnosis was a UTI but when she didn’t start eating within a couple days of treatment I took her back to the vet for additional testing. The vet gave me a diagnosis for lymphoma. At that point the biggest concern was getting her eating again because if I couldn’t within a couple days, I would need to consider letting her go. I tried a last ditch effort of an anti-nausea medication injection and that seemed to jump start the appetite. After another week of trying random soft foods, then hand feeding kibble, she finally started eating on her on. Due to the lymphoma we’re just in a waiting game but she seems happy and active and lovey. 


On the first day I got her to eat on her own, I went and broke my foot. The true story is I tripped in a ditch by a work colleague has a much better version, that being I fought off pirate ninjas with knitting needles and a skein of yarn, while saving a truckload of kittens. Totally beleiveable, right? Anyways, I’m in an aircast for 6 weeks and hoping the bone starts to heal on its own. While I can get around pretty well, stairs are still problematic and I’m trying to stay off my feet as much as possible because walking in the cast is discombobulating my back. So appreciative of my wonderful friends who have been helping out. Also, ordering groceries online is now a thing, which makes me feel like a lazy bum but so be it. 


My last fiber festival classes of the season are this upcoming weekend at the Hoosier Hills Fiber Festival in Franklin, Indiana. More details on the Classes page but I’m teaching a fun variety of classes. Cables 101 will teach you how to knit cables, read cables from a chart and how to fix mis-crossed cables. Beaded Wire Bracelet is a fun in-class project to knit a beaded bracelet from wire. Lastly, DIY stitch markers will teach you to make three different types of stitch markers and you take home as many as you can make. 


All of my plants for the year, save for a few a friend brought over last night, are in their pots and growing. I have some fruit (strawberries), veggies (carrots, peppers, tomatoes, leafy greens), herbs (too many to list), and some flower/healing plants (chamomile, lavender, echinacea). Winston loves the fresh kale! 

More in June on Hoosier Hills, what’s on the needles and recent spinning.  I’m gearing up to participate in Tour de Fleece but I’ll, obviously, be spinning on my e-spinner rather than my double treadle Sonata. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Events, Off Topic

Leave a Reply

